Sign in / register

Dog tax rolls 1797-1798

A tax of 5 shillings on non-working dogs was levied in 1797-8. The resulting dog tax rolls provide information about owners of non-working dogs in Scotland and the number of dogs they owned.

  1. Dog tax, volume 01

    This volume contains information on dog taxes paid in Aberdeenshire, Argyll, Ayrshire, Banffshire, Berwickshire, Buteshire, Caithness, Clackmannanshire, Cromartyshire, Dunbartonshire, Dumfriesshire, East Lothian, Fife, Angus (Forfarshire), Inverness-shire, Kincardineshire, Kinross-shire, and Kirkcudbrightshire.

    Transcription difficulty: Intermediate
  2. Dog tax, volume 02

    This volume contains information on dog taxes paid in the counties of Lanarkshire, Midlothian, Morayshire, Nairnshire, Orkney, Peeblesshire, Perthshire, Renfrewshire, Ross-shire, Roxburghshire, Selkirkshire, Stirlingshire, Sutherland, West Lothian, and Wigtownshire.

    Transcription difficulty: Intermediate

Related forum topics

Topic / Topic starterRepliesLast post
by Bill-IonaR » Thu, 2014-11-20 14:32
by Nora Edwards
Thu, 2014-11-20 14:44